The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Tummy Mummy 10 January 2017

It is nine years (nine years!) since my first Lighter Life journey.  It was a life-changing experience for me and I vowed that I would do everything in my power to maintain my new weight.  And I did for a while.  I took up running, completed a marathon, walked down the aisle with my darling Boy (without feeling like a blimp) and revelled in my new-found confidence and health.  So far, so good.

I returned from honeymoon pregnant, and my lovely daughter was born in the summer of 2012.  I had added a pregnancy stone or two and had every intention of shifting it fairly quickly.  Things didn’t go to plan.  I was flung headlong into post-natal depression.  I became quite agoraphobic and spent days on end inside the house.  I turned to food for comfort.  I had some physical problems after the birth (my daughter weighed in at ten and a half pounds!) and couldn’t take up my beloved running, despite The Boy’s encouragement to get out and do so while he looked after the baby.  The weight continued to creep back on, slowly and stealthily.

Before long I was expecting my second beautiful daughter, who put in an appearance in the spring of 2014.  Sadly, the depression had worsened and I was really quite ill during the pregnancy.  I’d opted not to take any medication during that time because of the risk to the baby, so my focus after the birth was to get myself well again.  My physical health and fitness was considerably lower on my list of priorities.  So I simply watched my waistline expand.  Was that the right thing to do?  For my family, probably.  For me, probably not.  But hindsight is a wonderful thing.

So … here I am, pretty much back to where I was when I began my first journey.  Or, put another way, back to precisely where I swore I would never be.  I have two choices.  I tell myself that I will always be overweight and I should just accept it, or I throw everything I have at getting back to a healthy weight.  I think you can guess from the fact that I’m typing this blog which decision I’ve made … 🙂

I have to start with the food.  I’m still unable to run, but am scheduled for a surgical procedure that will eventually mean I can pull on my trainers again (I won’t go into the details for the benefit of the more squeamish amongst you!).  To that end, I’ve opted to try Lighter Life again because it worked so well for me the first time around.  I have a few more obstacles, not least the fact that I won’t have the support of a group as it’s an option I simply don’t have time for.  I may not stay on the programme until I hit my target, but at the very least I’m hoping that it will give me the kickstart I need.

Here goes nothing 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Tummy Mummy”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Good luck! Your blog is such an inspiration, I have read it a number of times and it’s a great account of the diet. Thanks for writing it and please do keep updating.

  2. Natalie Says:

    I have just finished reading your blogs. I done lighterlife in 2012 and have just returned 3 weeks ago to it and yes it makes life easier and your head clearer. You certainly have had a busy life in the past and having children keeps it that way. Good luck with everything and keep us amused and included with what life brings you.


Leave a Reply

