The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day 526 – To Tell Or Not To Tell? 20 July 2009

Well, I survived the first 24 hours and I’m halfway through day 2.  So far, so good.  I’m hoping that it becomes second nature … I ought to know the ins and outs of this diet by now!

The one thing I’m wrestling with is whether to tell people or not.  Last time I opted for absolute openness and received phenomenal support from everyone around me.  That was great.  However, this time I’m tempted to act on a ‘need to know’ basis.  The first reason for this is, frankly, my own ego.  Despite how I rationalise it to myself, there is a sense of failure associated with the fact that I’m doing this again.  Crooked thinking, I know, but there you have it.  Secondly, and more importantly, I’m worried about sabotage (it’s funny to slip back into the vocabulary of Lighter Life!).  When I was at my biggest, it was unarguable that I needed to lose weight.  It’s very different when you’re only a few stone in the wrong direction.  I’m worried that people will say ‘don’t be silly … you lost all the weight … now you’re being stupid and don’t need to lose more’.  I don’t want to do a disservice to my nearest and dearest, but that’s what I’m worried about.  Even worse, there may be those who go one step further into the ‘told you so!’ territory around LL being a bad diet per se.  I don’t want or need that, frankly.

Maybe I’ll test the water with a few people and see how it goes.  If I don’t, I’ll only have to fend off the barrage of ‘are you pregnant?’ questions that will hit me because I’m not drinking!

Secretly or not, I’ve got off to a good start.  I didn’t go through days of detox hell last time, so I’m hoping that this time will be no different.  I’m two litres into my water allowance, armed with minty mouth spray, about to go and buy extra reserves of tabasco … in short, I’m prepared.  Bring it on (again)!

 

3 Responses to “Day 526 – To Tell Or Not To Tell?”

  1. lifeshouldbestereo Says:

    Hiya.. just discovered your blog. Well done on your achievements so far! I am going to my very first LL meeting on Friday night, a consultation, after which I will most definitely sign up for it. I am rearing to go, can’t wait. It’s daunting and terrifying and exciting at the same time.

    • Doman Says:

      Hi there

      Thanks for your comments. Good luck with starting LL … I hope all goes well at your consultation on Friday!

      Take care and all the best.

      Joanne

  2. thislittlebear Says:

    Well done. Getting back into it isn’t easy, even without the ‘induction hell’, which I didn’t get either. I know exactly what you mean about the ‘to tell or not to tell’ the second time around. I’m regretting telling a few, for exactly the reasons you mentioned (I’m in my third week).

    Have a good week- I’m enjoying your blog.


Leave a Reply

