The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 503 to 525 – Big Decisions 19 July 2009

After a lot of soul searching, I’m back on Lighter Life.  Today is my first day.

I thought about it for a long time.  I had to get over the feeling that I’d somehow failed which, given how far I’ve come since the beginning of last year, is quite ridiculous.  The conclusion I’ve come to is that I finished too early before.  I got to the top end of my target weight zone and stopped dieting … at the time I’d had enough of abstinence and part of the reason for moving into management was so that I didn’t fall off the wagon completely.  With hindsight, I should’ve stuck at it for a few weeks more to give myself that crucial comfort zone of half a stone or so.  But, as they say, hindsight is a wonderful thing!

On a positive note, I’ve got the benefit of everything I’ve learnt since starting this before.  Importantly, I’ve got a clearer idea about what ‘normal’ means to me and what I want to achieve.  Last time I was simply running in the dark.  I’m hoping that this time around I’ll succeed once and for all … I don’t want to be one of those people who relies on the diet on an ongoing basis.  That’s not a healthy way to be.

So wish me luck!  I need to regain the focus that I had last time and stick at it.  In a weird way, there’s something quite comforting about going back to the routine, but I’m sure I’ll be over that within a day or so.  Here goes nothing!

 

Leave a Reply

