The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 381 to 408 – Broken Body, Broken Mind 24 March 2009

This may be the longest gap between posts ever, for which I apologise unreservedly.  I’ve been flat out busy at work and, frankly, the last thing I want to do when I get home after a day like that is log on.  But here I am … eventually.

I buggered up my back two weeks ago, which was a real blow.  I was running home and everything was going really well … I was enjoying it, my pace was good and it was feeling relatively effortless.  Then, about half a mile from home, it went ‘ping’.  It hurt so much that at first I thought my house keys (in the bum bag around my waist) had accidentally jabbed into my back.  Sadly not.  By the time I got home it was crippling.  I had no choice but to go and see a physio.  She told me I had trapped a facet, gave me lots of exercises to do and banned me from running and other high-impact or weight-orientated activities until it was better.

I really hoped I’d be able to run again last week, but she only gave me the all clear this morning.  Trust my luck that it’s been the sunniest week of the year so far and I’ve been trapped inside!  But I’m hoping to get out tonight if I ever escape from my desk …

As always seems to be the way with me, that was another example of ‘one step forward, two steps back’.  I was really getting into the swing of my diet and my training before the back incident.  I had even begun to do circuit training with my trainer … what sort of hell on earth is that?!  It’s true that the sense of achievement after four exhausting circuits is pretty much second to none, but it doesn’t make it any damn easier!

The problem was that the physical setback gave me quite a massive mental setback too.  I slipped into a mindset of ‘I don’t know why I bother’.  That attitude is very much old me vs. new me, and I was alarmed to find myself thinking like that.  It’s taken quite a lot of effort to snap myself out of it, too.  I’m hoping that when I get back into the gym then I’ll rediscover my motivation.

So here’s to sunshine and enthusiasm, and boy are they overdue 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

