The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 367 to 372 – Routine, schmoutine 16 February 2009

Well, the last few days have been a case of one step forward and two steps back … this is becoming alarmingly typical for me, it seems.  It turns out that I did actually injure my left leg in the spin class on Monday, and the fact that I went ahead with my run on Wednesday morning really didn’t help.  I’m having to learn the difference between sore muscles and injured ones, and last week I learned the hard way.  I spent the end of the week limping around and giving off a pungent odour of deep heat rub as I tried to get my leg back to normal.  Mission accomplished, however.  It meant I was able to go for a run on Sunday morning around the Common, although I had to limit it to 3.5km as I was pushed for time and nervous about my poor old pins.

Despite the hobbling, I was relatively successful with my training last week.  I managed 45 mins spin on Monday, 45 mins yoga on Tuesday, a 4 mile / 6.5 km treadmill run on Wednesday, weight training with my trainer on Friday and a short run on Sunday.  I was very pleased with that.  Oh, and add an hour mucking about on the Wii Fit on Saturday (yes, that is how we spent a large chunk of Valentine’s day!).  This spurred me on to repeat the same this week but, irritatingly, it looks like life is going to get in the way.  I have to spend two days of this week in all day meetings out of town (proper 8am to 6pm jobs) which is going to make fitting everything in very difficult.  It’s frustrating that my attempts at making a firm routine can get disrupted so easily … that, unfortunately, is one of the ‘perks’ of my job.

The diet went reasonably well too, although it fell apart over the weekend (although I’m theoretically allowed two days off).  The combination of my Mum’s birthday dinner, Valentine’s Day and having guests round on Sunday meant that I consumed considerably more naughty food than I should have done.  So I’m going to have to try and be extra strict this week … and going to catered meetings is going to make that tricky.  Funnily enough it was easier when I was doing lighter life.  I didn’t have to navigate the minefield of whatever food was on offer, I simply had to eat my packs and be done with it.  The excuse of a ‘special diet’ meant that nobody batted an eyelid, whereas turning up with your own food in a bag could be construed as weird and/or rude.  Maybe I just need to bite the bullet and do that.

I’m still struggling to eat as soon as I get up.  Even though I’m only eating a tiny bowl of muesli, I literally find myself forcing it into my mouth.  It’s amazing how you can get really turned off a food that you previously didn’t really care about either way 🙂

I’m going back to the spin class tonight.  I’m not sure if we’ll have the same instructor, but I’m hoping it’s someone else.  When I discussed the class with my trainer, there was a lot of head shaking and eye rolling.  Apparently, cycling with one leg at a time, cycling with zero resistance on the bike or doing squats while pedalling are absolute no-nos, and we were told to do the first two.  I know that people’s opinions on what is or isn’t good training will differ, but it makes me a bit nervous to think that the instructor might not know exactly what they’re supposed to be doing.  I’ll see what happens tonight and then make a decision about the class.

And then I have to go home and eat a healthy dinner of smoked fish and no carbs while the Boy merrily tucks into the roast leftovers from the weekend.  Boo!

 

Leave a Reply

