The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 354 to 365 – Happy Anniversary! 9 February 2009

What a cheerful little soul I was last time!  Dear me … I must remember not to blog late at night after a glass of wine or two.  I clearly get terribly, er,  philosophical 🙂  Actually, the long and the short of it was that I was doing too much.  I was setting expectations of myself that weren’t achievable, was therefore feeling a sense of failure, and getting royally pissed off with myself as a result.  I’ve acknowledged that now, and I’m trying to be disciplined without being unrealistic.

So it was a year ago tomorrow that I began the process of turning my back on my old self.  In a bizarre twist of coincidence (and I swear I didn’t plan this) today is the day that I’m beginning my new food regime, as recommended by my fabulous (and ever patient) personal trainer.  It’s odd to be in a situation where I’m dieting again, but I’m trying not to see it that way.  I’m trying to see it as the second phase in my development … phase one was from fat to thin(ner) and phase two is from unfit to fit.  If I’m going to place hefty physical demands on myself, then I need to feed my body the right things.

My new regime is based on eating little and often (6 small meals a day) and getting my carb intake early in the day rather than late.  All perfectly sensible.  So my food intake today looks something like this, all washed down with about two and a half litres of water:

7am (much, much earlier than normal!): a small bowl of muesli and skimmed milk.

9.30am: a handful of brazil nuts and small apple.

12pm (again, very early for lunch): a grilled chicken breast with brown rice and salad.

2.30pm: more nuts.

5pm: half a small tub of low fat cottage cheese on two Ryvitas.

8pm: lean meat with either salad or steamed vegetables (but no carbs allowed).

Exciting, huh?  The more astute among you will have noticed the absence of chocolate, biscuits, cake or booze … more’s the pity.  The intention is that I will eat according to this plan for at least 5 days out of 7 (obviously changing the types of meat etc.).  Frankly, given that I spent half of last year subsisting on soups and shakes, I know that I can do this.  And, as I’ve said before, having a regime really helps me.  I’ve proved over and over again that I have no discipline when left to my own devices.  I’m clearly better than I was, but I’m not ‘fixed’.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

In terms of exercise, I’m back on track.  I know now that the reason I was beginning to ‘fail’ with the running was because I was pushing myself too hard and too fast.  I’m now happily getting into the regime of one short run (4 miles/6.5km) and one longer run (over 5 miles/8km) per week, along with one additional non-running cardio session on my own and one weight-training session with my trainer.  On top of that I’ve been strongly recommended to add yoga and/or pilates … if I don’t run out of hours in the day I’m going to try that too.  I’m trying to enjoy the novelty of this routine so much that it becomes a habit.  We’ll see.

To that end, I’m off to a spin class this evening.  I’m absurdly nervous, to be honest … I’m not good in group exercise situations, and I have a sneaking suspicion that everyone else will be athletically brilliant whereas I’ll make an idiot of myself.  I’m going to get there super early so I can bag a bike at the very back of the class.  Perhaps the one nearest the door … 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

