The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 333 to 344 – The Next Chapter 18 January 2009

I’ve been giving a lot of thought to the direction of this blog since completing lighter life.  Clearly, given that I’m not actually following the diet any more, I either need to wrap it up or find new topics to discuss on a regular basis (it won’t have escaped some of you that my posts have got fewer and further between).

I don’t want to stop blogging.  I’ve had numerous posts and emails from people who say that they are interested in finding out what happens to someone after the diet.  Does it all go horribly wrong?  Does the weight pile back on?  Is it a short-term fix that doesn’t resolve long-term problems?  For that reason, I”m going to keep writing, and intend to be as honest as possible about what happens to me in the future.

Also, I have resolved to follow a regular exercise regime with running as my primary focus.  As I begin the uphill climb towards a marathon (fingers crossed) I want to document the trials and tribulations of beginning from a cold start and attempting to run 26 miles.  Speaking selfishly, I found that the blog really helped to keep me on track while I was dieting and I’m hoping that it will do the same for me while I’m training.  It’s not all about the exercise, either … I’m going to be working with my trainer to make sure that I”m eating the right foods while I’m doing this.

So this is where I go from here.  I had to summarise my goals for 2009 for my trainer last week and, in a nutshell, I think that 2008 was the year that I lost weight and 2009 will be the year when I get fit.  I hope!  I’m optimistic about my chances.  If last year taught me anything, it taught me that if I give myself a huge goal, then something in my psyche forces me towards it.  Here’s hoping I can replicate that success.

The running is going well.  I ran home from work on Thursday evening, having been encouraged by a friend of mine who does the same.  We spent a hilarious ten or so minutes dodging confused commuters on Tottenham Court Road and then went our separate ways at Trafalgar Square.  I was nervous … when you run with a fixed goal (i.e. your house) it’s very different from just going for a bit of a pootle round the Common.  I knew that there would only be one outcome … I would make it or I wouldn’t.   I tried to see the journey in stages … to the river, then to the Embankment, to Vauxhall, to Stockwell then home.  Those mini goals were vital in getting me home.  By the time I got to Vauxhall I was over the moon.  I told myself that I’d really broken the back of it and was on the home straight.  Then, at Stockwell, I was ready to give up.  I wasn’t knackered, or struggling, I was just over the whole thing.  Then my pride kicked in and I thought about the incredulous faces of my friends as they asked ‘You got to Stockwell and gave up?  Five minutes from your house?!’.  So I pushed on, and sheer joy and adrenaline made me sprint from the end of my road to my front door.  I stumbled through the door, panting and sweating and ecstatic, and terrified the life out of my cat who went belting up the stairs.  I’d done it.

Flushed with that success (it’s about 4 and a half miles from work) I ran home from Crystal Palace yesterday.  That’s getting on for 5 miles.  The Boy has bought a flat to rent out (yes, some people are still buying houses!) and we’d been over there taking out the filthy old kitchen.  I have to say that my legs really don’t like me very much today, but they’re going to have to get used to it.  I intend to do two middle length runs (4 or 5 miles) and one longer one (between 5 and 10) every week.  Let’s see how I get on!

Food-wise, I’m trying to work off the excesses of Christmas.  We’ve started getting a vegetable box delivered every week with the aim of decreasing our takeaway consumption or temptation to go out.  Not only will it save us money in these cash-strapped times, but will be better for our health.  So far this year I’ve discovered the wonders of curly kale, pink fir apple potatoes, and fresh beetroot … I’m looking forward to some more weird and wonderful food concoctions!

So here begins phase 2 of this blog.  Let’s see how it goes, eh.

 

One Response to “Days 333 to 344 – The Next Chapter”

  1. kickboxing2008 Says:

    That’s great! I hope you get to becoming and remaining fit in 2009. Good Luck – Nick


Leave a Reply

