The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 320 to 332 – Happy New Year! 6 January 2009

OK, so wishing people a happy new year on the 6th of Jan is slightly belated, I know, but I realised with some relish that I hadn’t switched on a computer since my last post on 24th December.  For me, that’s unheard of.  I’m one of those people who’s usually only inches away from a laptop, blackberry and a mobile phone.  It’s nice to know that I can turn my back on them once in a while.

I’ve just come back from a week in Devon with the Boy and two other friends.  We rented a cottage on the outskirts of a town called Halsworthy, about half an hour from Bude.  It was a week of long walks, board games and home cooking.  In fact, cooking played rather a large part of the holiday.  We decided to play our own version of ‘come dine with me’ and took it in turns to cook dinner (slightly nerdily we also scored each other in secret and announced a winner on the final evening).  Clearly, with everyone aiming to impress in the kitchen, the potential for enormous calorie consumption was high.  In anticipation of this I made a pact with myself to keep up with the running … and run I did.  I went out on three mornings during the week we were there and managed one run of 5 miles and two runs of 3 miles.  I could’ve done more, I think, but on the second two runs the roads were extremely icy and very treacherous so I decided that discretion was the better part of valour and opted for an early shower rather than a broken ankle.

The fantastic thing is that I’m really starting to get a feel for running.  Once I’ve made the effort to get out there (and clambering out of bed at 8am in a cottage where you could see your breath condensing in the morning was no mean feat, I can tell you) and have got going, I now hit that point where I’m in a rhythm and really feeling good about it.  I feel as if I’m relaxing into it, if that makes sense.  You have to understand that, apart from swimming, I’ve always viewed exercise as some form of masochistic torture that people impose on themselves … now I’m beginning to see it differently.  Oh god … am I going to turn from a diet bore into an exercise bore?  Please shoot me if I do.

On a slighty less worthy note, my sister bought us a Wii fit for Christmas.  It’s absolutely brilliant … despite the fact that it had the cheek to tell me I’m overweight (well, that’s Christmas for you).  I thoroughly recommend one to anyone who’s feeling a bit squidgy around the middle after all the turkey … exercise in the comfort of your own front room is a simply genius idea, and much more fun than those hideous celebrity workout DVDs.  Frankly I don’t think using one will turn anyone into an olympic athlete, but I spent a couple of hours on it today and some of the exercises were taxing enough.  That also made me feel better about opting out of the run around the Common that I had planned for this morning … well, it was bloody snowing at the time!

So … here’s to a slightly punitive January after the excesses of last month.  Nice glass of carrot juice, anyone?

 

Leave a Reply

