The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 191 to 193 – On Top Of The World 21 August 2008

Crazy week this week, work-wise, so I’ve been a bit slack on the blogging front.  Naughty me.

The great news is that I’ve just been to my weigh-in and I’ve shifted the weight that I put on while I was in Tenerife.  I was a bit down in the dumps when I came back, as I felt podgy, and as you know was endeavouring to go back into abstinence to shift the pounds.  Well, that didn’t work, but a return to sensible eating and regular exercising has done the trick.  I’m not yet at the weight I achieved before going into management (76 kg) but I’m not far off (79 kg).  I’m so happy that I could skip.  I feel so normal, for want of a better word.  I had a normal holiday, with the normal indulgences, put on a normal amount of weight, and shifted it in the way that normal people do.  This bodes so well for life after lighter life.

Today was a big day for me in other ways too.  I’m being promoted at work (yippee!) and part of that promotion involved three hour-long meetings with my potential new clients today.  I had to make them comfortable with having me moving into the role (I’m replacing a colleague who is going abroad) … in a nutshell they had to come away from those meetings believing that I had the right personality for their respective teams and that I do actually have a working brain between my ears.  I realised yet again what a difference this diet has made to my confidence.  I know damn well that I would have hated going through this process as fat me … I’ve mentioned this before but I was living with a perpetual sense that I didn’t deserve certain things before simply because I was so unhappy about how I looked and felt.  It’s at moments like these that you realise that dieting is about so much more than the superficial matter of how you look.  It goes right to the heart of how you are and what you believe you can do.

I think the meetings went well.  I guess I’ll find out soon enough!  I did have one fabulous moment when I realised that I’d met one of the clients before.  We were having the ‘where do I know you from?’ discussion until I suddenly remembered that I’d been on a conference with him almost eighteen months ago.  Without thinking he said ‘yes, I remember you … good god you’ve lost a lot of weight’ then clapped his hand over his mouth in case he’d offended me.  Of course I wasn’t offended, I was delighted.  He told me that he himself shed 30 kg about three years ago and I had the double pleasure of telling him that I’d lost more than that 🙂

So I’m sitting here now, exhausted from the brain strain of today, but absolutely ecstatic about the fact that I seem to be managing my weight while living the life I always have.  The most significant change is the amount of exercise I’m doing.  I’ve been to the once dreaded gym three times this week, and even managed 20 minutes on the rowing machine yesterday.  If I can keep that up, I may soon be able to class myself as fit (in the health sense not the attractiveness sense, you understand).  Just a few months ago that would have been unthinkable.

For those of you who are on lighter life, or a similar programme, or considering starting it, you will undoubtedly have read the reams of criticism online from people who claim that once you finish the diet you simply pile all the weight back on.  Well … at the moment I’m proving that to be untrue, and I can’t tell you how great that feels.

 

3 Responses to “Days 191 to 193 – On Top Of The World”

  1. Anna Says:

    Quick comment- NEVER stop adding your blogs, its now saved as a favourite and I wouldnt have got through the last 14 weeks without them (I have just finished foundation) so THANK YOU, THANK YOU , THANK YOU!!

    Anna

  2. Nicky Says:

    Doman, let me ditto what Anna says…your blog and sensible head are what keep me going sometime stoo…I am in week 17 and seem to be just a few weeks behind some of your revelations too. You really are inspiring, entertaining and eloquent…keep up the good work all round

    Nicky

  3. Munch Says:

    Ditto again! I’m only on day 13 of the cambridge diet and reading your blog is what made me certain I could and should start it – and its keeping me going! Please keep blogging!

    x Munch


Leave a Reply

