The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 151 to 156 – Canadian Adventures 16 July 2008

Ladies and gentlemen, Canada rocked!  The wedding was wonderful, the weather was amazing and we all had a fabulous time.  Some lucky sods are still out there continuing to have a lovely time, but I’m back at work and trying not to yawn every five seconds.

Diet-wise, my intentions went out of the window.  I didn’t go completely bananas and start wolfing down plates of chips with side orders of spaghetti carbonara, but I didn’t exactly hold back either.  In the main I stuck to salads (with chicken or fish), made sure all dressings were on the side and only ate until I was full.  The old me always cleared her plate.  What I will say is that I went swimming every single day that I was there.  Not only was there a beautiful art deco pool in the hotel that was an absolute pleasure to swim in, but on the day after the wedding we were invited to the bride’s parents’ house in Chelsea, Quebec for ‘drinks and a swim’.  Their house backs on to a river and we spent hours in it … I’ll remember what it felt like to be in that water when I’m ploughing up and down the pool in Clapham!  I can’t tell you how amazing it felt to be one of those people who’s able to join in … I wasn’t ‘the fat one’ sitting morosely on the jetty, fully clothed and envious of everyone else in the water.  Happy days indeed.

I also finally got to wear the dress that I bought all those months ago and, as promised, here are the photos to prove it:

It was perfect, and even survived some very dodgy late-night dancing.  The same can’t be said for the shoes, mind you …

So I’m back home and back in my house (hooray!).  The building and decorating is finished and it looks amazing.  All that remains is an endless round of cleaning and unpacking until we’re completely back to normal.  I also have to apologise profusely to my neighbours as I currently don’t have any curtains in my bedroom window.  I completely forgot about that as I leapt out of bed this morning, naked as the day I was born … 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

