The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days 102 to 105 – Ringing The Changes 26 May 2008

Aren’t bank holiday weekends brilliant?  I’m sitting here now, in front of the fire, with the Boy and the cat and it feels like a Sunday … what bliss.  And the best news is that it’s Tuesday tomorrow, hurrah!

It was a busy weekend.  On Friday night I went to the pre-opening night of a friend of mine’s bar (Bordello on Wardour Street) which was great.  He invited a few of his friends along to check the place out … it’s taken him a year to get it up and running so we’ve all been dying to see it.  There are some excellent cocktail barmen there, offering an impressive drink selection, so I was a bit sorry that I wasn’t drinking but kept telling myself that I only have a few more weeks to go.  One of the barmen made a cocktail for us to try (a Thai Sorbet … his own invention) and I must confess that I had a sip, just to be polite.  It was delicious and made me look forward to the day when the thinner me can enjoy a fabulous cocktail without feeling like a greedy pig.

The rest of the weekend has been very domestic.  As I may have mentioned before, I’m just about to have an enormous amount of work done on my house.  I have to replace all of the heating pipes (oh the joys of an old Victorian property) and am then finally redecorating after over two years of living with bare plaster on the walls and generally very shabby decor.  Any of you who’ve ever had to rewire a house will understand!  So we’ve spent all weekend clearing out and packing up and choosing paint colours so that the builders and decorators can do their jobs.  I don’t think that the timing of this house makeover is a coincidence … the fact that I’m changing myself and changing where I live all at the same time is significant to me.  This year will go down in history as the year that I really turned things around and sorted out those things that I’ve put up with for far too long … my weight being the most obvious and visible one.  And the whole diet experience has had an effect on how I’ve approached the house task too.  I’ve found it so much easier to get rid of things that I don’t want and have just been holding on to.  I now get pleasure out of giving away and recycling things that have been lurking in the back of dusty cupboards for years.  I’m also living in a state of euphoric expectation … coincidentally the end of my time in development coincides almost exactly with the work being finished.  A new me will be in a new house facing a new adventure with food … it’s almost unbearably exciting.

I had phone call on Saturday from my good friend Claire who was the person who introduced me to lighter life.  I don’t see her very often these days and she scared the living daylights out of me a while ago when I turned up on her doorstep to be confronted by a svelte, gorgeous lady who was half the size of the person I’d seen only a few months previously.  She called to find out how I was getting along … the last time I saw her in the flesh was the week before I began the diet.  We had a long and very positive conversation about lighter life.  Despite both being quite cynical people, with a tendency to be rebellious, we’ve both surprised ourselves by how much we’ve learned and gained from the whole experience.  I’m not just talking about the weight loss, but the counselling and the behavioural therapy too.  I admitted to her that before I started I was worried that I’d find the counselling embarrassing and, frankly, a bit naff.  I was also sceptical about the whole ‘abstinence is the solution’ premise … something that I fully understand now.  She laughed and told me that she had been exactly the same.  She’s been able to maintain her weight for about two years now and says that she relies on what she learned during her counselling every day.  If that’s not inspiring, I don’t know what is.

Speaking to her was so important.  I now have exactly six weeks of abstinence left, and then management.  I feel now, more than ever, ready to tackle the coming weeks with as much vigour as when I began the diet.  It would be easy to skulk away from the whole experience now (I keep being told that developers is hard, because it’s a kind of no-man’s-land) but I have to do it.  Forty two days and counting … 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

