The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day 101 – Getting Noticed 22 May 2008

Now then, please forgive my vanity, but I’ve noticed a strange new phenomenon.  People on the street are actually checking me out … me!  It’s hilarious!  Builders in vans have been smiling at me at traffic lights, security guards in shops are engaging me in conversation and completely random people are looking me up and down.  I know that unwanted attention can be a royal pain in the arse, but at the moment I’m really conscious of this (does it happen to normal women all the time?) and actually quite enjoying it.  People I don’t know look at me and think I look nice … that is incredibly flattering having spent years shuffling along, draped in fat clothes, trying not to be noticed by anyone.

You wait, I’ll be moaning about lecherous old perverts in a few days’ time, I bet you …

Jokes aside, it occurred to me the other day that this diet makes you very self-obsessed.  You think about what you are doing and, more importantly, how you look for the vast majority of every day.  And I don’t know if this is just me, but I’ve had endless conversations with people about the diet, and how I feel, and what I’ve lost and blah, blah, blah, blah.  Am I turning into the incredible boring woman?  Am I risking becoming incredibly vain?  I do hope not.  I wonder how long it will take for me to stop talking and thinking about this diet.  By my calculation I’ll be done with the final management phase by the end of September … but after that will I spend the rest of my life saying ‘I used to be extremely fat, you know’, or getting into tedious discussions about what people eat and why?  In short, how much of a long-term impact will this diet have on me?  It’s a bit peculiar that my ‘note to self’ will have changed from ‘try not to hate yourself too much’ to ‘try not to love yourself too much’, because nobody likes someone who’s full of themselves.

And on that note, I’m going to take my vain self clothes shopping to look in some more mirrors 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Day 101 – Getting Noticed”

  1. Hey babe!!!

    I chanced upon your blog while tag surfing and smiled at the part of your entry where you sounded really delighted that people were checking you out. 🙂 I guess that’s part of the reason why many people diet… To regain their confidence and self esteem. And, I’m really motivated reading your entry about how determined you are to complete this diet.

    I’m a size 16 myself and I’ve been thinking about losing weight in like forever. *sigh* It’s just so hard to get down to it, especially the working out bits.

    Anyway, I have a blog on self esteem and body image – you might find it interesting and I hope you’ll pop by so I can hear your opinions and thoughts, babe!

    *Hugs*
    Mariko

  2. Doman Says:

    Thanks Mariko! I’ll check out your blog

    x

  3. trespass88 Says:

    “What’s a girl like you doing in a place like this?” *wink/nudge/wink* haha.

    I started reading your blog in March, when I began research into lighter life… I started on April 14/15th – and to date i am around the 30pound/2stone loss mark. I know weight loss is faster for guys, and I have a LOT to lose, (don’t we all think that?)

    Your write really well, and have inspired me when the going gets tough – unfortunately this week tough didn’t quite cut it and i have fallen off badly, but after catching up with your blog i look forward to tomorrow morning and getting right back on the wagon.

    Your recent before/after shots are fantastic – you honestly were never *that* fat – These were the first shots I had seen of you, and it surprised me that I had imagined a before picture of someone much larger – the only input I had was from your writing… Anyway, I’ll stop waxing lyrical now and just say; congratulations – I look forward to reading about your success in LighterLife Magazine this autumn.

    [xo] Usi, Glasgow

  4. Doman Says:

    Thanks Usi!

    Good luck with your lighter life journey (as everyone seems to call it) … I’m sure you’ll be back on the wagon in no time and shedding the pounds with the rest of us.

    I really appreciate your nice comments about the blog. Keep at it … perhaps you can send me YOUR after photos when you get there? 🙂

    Joanne

  5. Congrats on your progress!! You know the hard work is paying off when you start getting starred at! haha


Leave a Reply

