The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days Fifty Three to Fifty Six – Silver Linings 7 April 2008

It’s a funny old life.  There I was, feeling a bit down in the dumps towards the end of last week (through general diet boredom, frankly) and then I got an invite to a friend’s wedding.  Now I was expecting the invitation, but the location was a surprise.  It’s in Ottawa.  So … suddenly I find myself planning a trip to Canada in July and it dawned on me that if I’m very very good I can finish lighter life development by then (three weeks earlier than planned).  I can go to Canada and eat food.  Now, if the wedding had been in the UK then I was going to stay off the booze, politely decline the food and behave myself.  Given that we’re going all that way and will be with the wedding party for a few days, it would be nice to at least raise one glass of champagne to them.  So that’s what I’m going to do.  And if it means I walk home from work three nights a week until then, then so be it.  Do you reckon I can shift four stone in three months?  Well, I’m going to give it a damn good try.

The other reason that the wedding lifted my spirits is the fact that, for the first time since my teens, I’m actually excited about what I’m going to wear.  I’d eyed up a nice dress in Monsoon and was idly toying with the idea of aiming to look gorgeous in that for the wedding, and over the weekend I hauled my arse up to the west end to have a snoop around (oh, and to take back those ridiculous skirts that I optimistically bought last week … I swear I saw faintly amused pity in the sales assistants’ eyes when I explained that ‘when I got them home they just weren’t right’).  The dress I’d originally liked was very disappointing, but I found an absolute belter instead.  I tried it on in my current size (I love saying that) and, even if I do say so myself, looked pretty damn good in it.  So, in the spirit of optimism, I bought it two sizes smaller and it is now hanging beautifully in my wardrobe as a further incentive to spur me on.  I know full well that when I put it on and it fits there will be tears … I’ll post the evidence on here, too (of the dress, of course, not the tears).

Actively enjoying shopping trips is a whopping novelty for me … especially now that I feel I have access to the entire high street.  OK, so not all of the clothes look fabulous (yet) as I’m still at the big end of conventional sizing, but the point is that they are available to me.  It’s all very surreal.  And a blessed relief seeing as I need a handful of interim clothes to tide me over until my size settles down.

Apart from retail therapy I had luck on the Grand National too … I managed to bet on the winner and the one that came in fourth (well, I had to back a horse called Slim Pickings, didn’t I?).  My Mum is convinced that it’s yet another omen that this is my year … well, I’m not superstitious enough for that, but it put a smile on my chops all the same.  I didn’t even mind that I spent the afternoon and evening with a group of people getting slowly drunk and troughing Doritos followed by curry while I stuck piously to my Highland Spring.  Happy days!

The only downside is that I had a big dizzy spell on Sunday afternoon and I still don’t feel quite right.  I’m wondering if I got my water levels all out of kilter over the weekend (loads on Friday and Saturday, hardly any on Sunday).  I’m hoping it levels out today and is just a blip … I’ve never really had dizziness before and it’s not much fun.

It’s my first group tonight for three weeks, which is a ridiculously long time!  I can’t wait to see everyone.  Here’s hoping I’ve broken the 3 stone hurdle …

 

Leave a Reply

