The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day Fourteen – Six More Pounds 26 February 2008

I’m quite staggered, actually.  I was hoping I’d achieve four pounds so I’m delighted to have achieved six.  That brings the total loss in a fortnight to 1 stone and 2 lbs (or around 7 kilos), which is alarming.  Having had such a positive start I just hope I keep on track for the 3 stone by the end of the 100 days.

I’ve been thinking about my relationship with food.  It’s simple to think that there is some deep seated flaw in my development around food, but I can’t put my finger on it.  Although I can clearly remember my Dad telling me that if I didn’t finish my peas then he’d stick them up my nose, one by one, we didn’t come from the all-too-familiar and destructive ‘you have to clear your plate before you leave the table’ school of thinking.  At least, not as far as I remember.  Food has never been a point of stress in our family.  On the contrary, I was eating mussels almost before I could reach the table, was taken for curries at a very young age and encouraged to sample exotic Asian food while I was still at primary school.  Food has always been exciting, adventurous and something to be enjoyed socially.  The only hiccup in my development is probably the fact that I remember being put on a diet when I was about eight years old.  I’m sure this was well-intentioned but, frankly, I think that the slightly chubby child would have shed her puppy fat without being taught to obsess about what she looked like and what she put into her mouth.  I guess I’ll never know.

One of the only concerns I have about this process is that I really hope my positive enthusiasm for food isn’t destroyed.  On another blog I read the rather stark warning to ‘prepare for a lifetime of hating food’.  That would be tragic for me, it really would.  To this end I’m making a conscious effort to already think differently about the food that I prepare and eat, rather than thinking negatively about it.  I’m already making promises to myself that I will do such things as prepare more food from scratch, and learn competence in new cuisines.  I guess it doesn’t matter whether or not I actually keep to these promises in a few months’ time … it’s more important that I get to that point without feeling that food is merely functional and should effectively be dismissed from my life wherever possible.

But on a lighter note (no pun intended), my belt is now one notch tighter and I definitely need to think about buying some new jeans.  Now that’s a shopping trip I’m looking forward to.

 

Leave a Reply

