The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day Eight – The Hard Bit’s Done 19 February 2008

So I’m a week into the programme, over the big hurdle of the first week, and a whopping 10 lbs lighter.  Hooray!  I was amazed, but at the same time I felt that my efforts had been rewarded.  I even managed to resist the overwhelming urge to raise a glass of Rioja in celebration.  I’ll reward myself with one of my brand new food bars this afternoon instead.

The session was good.  I can see how it’s so crucial to keeping us all going, but some parts of it are a bit too cheesy for my liking.  I’ve never been good at those sort of activities because my inclination is to be disruptive.  I’ll have to watch that.  But what’s interesting is how different all the people in the group are, so it’s going to be a lively few weeks.  I can’t wait for all of us to succeed, frankly.

I woke up this morning feeling energetic again, although my resolution to only use the stairs today lasted until I got to work and made a beeline for the lift as usual.  I blame the cold for my sluggishness … that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

The regime is having a positive impact on the Boy, too.  He made chicken salad last night and the plan is to clear out the cupboards and fridge this week to fill it with healthy food.  And doubtless watch it all go off while he tucks into takeaways 🙂

I guess that this week’s challenge is to keep up the momentum.  It would be crushing to go back next week and find that I’d only lost a pound or, even worse, nothing.  I know that can happen but I can only imagine how demotivating it is.  I might even venture back to the gym, if I can face it.  I hate gyms with a passion.  I’ve tried and tried and tried, but I hate them.  Maybe I need to bite the bullet and give it one more go.  Maybe …

 

Leave a Reply

