The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Days Five to Seven – Gone In A Flash! 18 February 2008

Well my lofty intentions of writing in this every day were scuppered by the arrival of my sister’s first baby on Sunday.  He’s called Eddie and he’s gorgeous, look …

Eddie

So all that excitement meant that I had little time to use my laptop for anything other than emailing photos to excited relatives.

But …  my first weekend was a success!  I watched my Mum and the Boy eat a curry on Friday night without flinching, went to the ballet on Saturday and (despite a hefty dose of red wine envy) sipped mineral water all night, but my coup de grace was sitting at a table of seven other people having a hearty roast dinner on Sunday.  The food looked nice, smelt nice and I’m told it was nice, but I didn’t feel the remotest pang of envy.  It was perhaps helped along by the Boy’s sister enthusing about how much fun we’re going to have when we go away in August.  Swimming costumes and sunbathing by the pool … that is what I need to focus on!

So it’s almost the end of the first week.  This has to be the hardest week, surely?  Liquids only, no official evidence of weight loss to motivate you, and all the adjustments to be made.  I can’t wait to go to the group this evening, see how I’ve done and find out how everyone else has fared.  I’m getting the long-awaited meal bars tonight (and am pathetically excited about that) as well as some water flavouring to spice up my sober nights in the pub.  Bring it on!

 

Leave a Reply

