The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day Three – Boing, Boing, Boing! 14 February 2008

I was on sparkling form all day yesterday, despite running out of water on the way back from my meeting.  How in hell did I get so thirsty?  I think the packs are quite salty, to be honest, especially because I don’t normally eat a lot of salt.  But the weird thing was that I didn’t get back to my desk until almost 2pm, which is well after my usual lunch time, and I was more thirsty than hungry. 

I can’t believe how easy it has been to simply stop eating.  I even missed out on copious amounts of chocolate birthday cake for a colleague without even blinking.  Then, late last night, the Boy came back from the pub and cooked bacon, right under my nose, and I couldn’t have cared less.  Can your attitude and mentality change so quickly?  If so, then I should’ve done this years ago!

I already feel completely different.  I’ve been told about ketosis euphoria, but this seems to be more of a physical thing.  I have so much more energy and a real bounce in my step … it’s like I’ve recovered from a long hangover.  I’m sure there’s a chemical reason for this, but I don’t care as long as I feel good.  You wait … I’ll probably crash before the day is out 🙂

Tonight is the first real test.  As there’s no point in me and the Boy doing our usual Valentine thing of cocktails and gourmet food we’re going to the pub with friends.  Now I gave up drinking last summer for about two months so I know it won’t be too much of a hardship, but I can’t have a packet of crisps or anything to help with the boredom while they all get shitfaced.  And I’m not looking forward to mineral water without even a slice of lemon or lime … I’m struggling to believe that a dribble of lime juice would really make a difference …

I’m getting great support from my friends (thanks, Robbo!) and that’s making me even more determined.  And I’ve found myself looking at what people on the tube are wearing and planning a whole new wardrobe for myself.  If it weren’t horrendously wasteful I would happily burn every item in my wardrobe at the moment.  All of this is keeping me on track and reminding me that small sacrifices in the short term will make huge differences to me in the long term.

Off for more fennel tea.  I really do feel like Tigger today.  Boing!

 

Leave a Reply

