The Incredible Shrinking Woman

Day One – What I’m Up To 12 February 2008

Right, I think I’ve got the hang of this blogging thing.  Maybe.

As I said in the first post, I’ve embarked on quite a drastic diet.  It’s called Lighter Life and I came to know about it because a friend of mine very successfully lost a phenomenal amount of weight on the diet a couple of years ago.  I’m not a great fan of organised dieting, I have to say, but I thought I’d give it a go.  Nothing to lose but the weight, and all that …

The basic principle is that you begin by abstaining from conventional food for 100 days.  All your nutrition comes from food packs that you buy from Lighter Life, mainly shakes, soups and bars.  I’m not going to go into too much detail.  If you’re interested, you can look at their website.  The promise for all of this abstinence is dramatic and speedy weight loss (they claim 3 stone in that 100 day period).  You also have to attend weekly counselling sessions where you are weighed, purchase your food and have group discussions.

I went to the first of those last night and, without breaking the confidentiality of the group, I can say that I met some interesting people who have all committed to making this work.  Maybe some of them will read this blog and add their own comments, you never know.  So, anyway, I came out of there feeling very positive, very focused and very optimistic about embarking on this … all the more positive and optimistic after a ‘last supper’ of rare steak and red wine with my boyfriend (who is being very supportive of all this despite the significant impact it’s going to have on our social life).

Now I’m halfway through the first day.  I had a sweet but palatable vanilla concoction for breakfast, a not unreasonable Thai soup for lunch, and I’m two litres into my daily quota of water (a massive four litres).  The sun is shining, it’s a lovely day, and the promise of spring means that I’m genuinely excited about the prospect of shopping for a new summer wardrobe for (hopefully) a slimmer me.  I have a family holiday booked in August, and I guess you could say that I see that as my goal.

I’ve told a few people at work and the response has been very positive so far.  I know that I’m quite buoyed up about this at the moment, but I know that their support will be invaluable when I have off days and just get bored with the whole thing.  Hopefully they will be few and far between.

I’m not sure there’s much else to add just yet.  Time for another cup of peppermint tea, maybe 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

